Unboxing: July 2012 Birchbox

I was super excited for Birchbox this month since they teamed up with Glamour magazine!

The theme this month was The Senses.

The Information Card says:

“Hi there!

During Summer, everything is at its peak, from the steamy temperatures to the farmer’s market bounty. Is it any wonder that all our senses are in overdrive? It’s the ideal time to focus on the full immersion experience of your beauty routine: the sound of the packaging, the first whiff of an unfamiliar perfume, or the feel of a deliciously gritty scrub on your skin. This month, we’ve teamed up with Glamour, whose July issue celebrates the five senses of summer, to bring you a Birchbox that guarantess a multi-sensory experience.

Go ahead, start playing. In addition to gorgeous smells, colors, and textures, you’ll find custom earbuds that will help you rock out in bright style all summer.

Here’s to having the most vibrant summer yet.

xoxo,
Katia, Hayley & the Birchbox Team”

This is the inside of my box this month.

Product #1: Alterna BAMBOO UV+ Color Protection Fade-Proof Fluide
Full-Size: 2.5 FL OZ, $24.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.25 FL OZ, $2.40 USD

The Card says: “This finishing gloss prevents UV rays from fading color while organic bamboo extracts keep hair strong and soft.”

First Impressions: I feel like I’ve received quite a few Alterna products in various boxes, but I do enjoy them as a brand. I do color my hair, so this was a good product for me, and I like what it promises to do. I haven’t tried this yet, but I am definitely planning to, as I enjoy the Alterna brand, and this product seems like it could work for me.

Product #2: Blinc Mascara in Black
Full-Size: 0.21 OZ, $26.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.141 OZ, $17.45 USD

The Card says: “This tubing mascara won’t smear, smudge, or run – plus it gives lashes a sassy, extra glossy look. Tip: remove with warm water (no makeup remover required).”

First Impressions: I had actually received this exact mascara in a Sephora LashStash mascara, but I used all mine (read: it dried up), and I did really like, so I am excited to get another one, even if it’s mini, because I know that I really enjoy this mascara.

Product #3: Harvey Prince Hello.
Full-Size: 50 mL, $50.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.05 FL OZ, $1.61 USD

The Card says: “Get a glass half full disposition with this optimistic blend of juicy Meyer lemon, white grapefruit, and pink plumeria.”

First Impressions: I don’t really mind these perfume samples as much as other people seem to, as long as they smell good. This one is seriously becoming one of my favorite scents ever. This smells so good. It’s so happy smelling and I do really enjoy it:) And I do love the fact that it is a spray bottle, they’re so much easier to use.

Product #4: Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint in Glow.
Full-Size: 1.7 OZ, $38.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.17 FL OZ, $3.80 USD

The Card says: “This lightweight award-winner is our daily shortcut to dewy skin that feels natural and looks gorgeous.”

First Impressions: I had actually been wanting to try one of these, and I do really like the color that I got. My mom got the color Pearl in her box, and she gave it to me, so I do have two of them in different colors, and I am excited to try them both out.

Product #5 (LIFESTYLE EXTRA): Tea Forte Minteas in Cocoa Mate.
Full-Size: 3 TINS, $9.95 USD
Size I Received:1 TIN, $3.31 USD

The Card says: “Keep these refreshing, tea-infused mints on hand for quick pick-me-ups.”

First Impressions: I had received another tin of these (in a different flavor) in Eco-Emi (I think), and I really didn’t like them, so I gave these to my mom. She says they’re decent, and I know it’s all a matter of personal opinion, so yay that she likes them! :)

Product #6: Birchbox Exclusive Earbuds
Full-Size: 1 PAIR, $0.00 USD
Size I Received: 1 PAIR, $0.00 USD

The Card says: “We designed these neon headphones just for you. Pair them with your best playlist.”

First Impressions: I do think that these are super cute, but I have heard that the quality is really bad. I haven’t had a chance to try them out yet, but I’m kind of curious to see how these work based on what everyone else is saying.

My Products from Favorite (1) to Least Favorite (6):
1.
Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint
2. Harvey Prince Hello
3.
Blinc Mascara
4. Alterna BAMBOO UV+ Color Protection Fade-Proof Fluide
5.
Birchbox Exclusive Earbuds
6. 
Tea Forte Minteas

What I Paid for This Box: $10.00 USD
Value of This Box: 
$28.57 USD

What did you guys get in your Birchbox’s this month?

One thought on “Unboxing: July 2012 Birchbox

  1. Pingback: Haul: July 2012 Collective Haul | The Blog and The Beautiful

Comment

