Unboxing: June 2012 Birchbox

Yesterday, I went out with my grandmother and my mom to lunch (@ Sweet Tomatoes) and to a movie (Dark Shadows). When I got back home, I had my June 2012 Birchbox waiting for me! (FINALLY!)

This was the inside of the box.

The theme this month was Jet Set. This is the front of the information card.

It says:
“Hi there,

Blame the school calendar, but every June we still get giddy about dusting off our suitcases and planning an itinerary. And even when we can’t hop on a plane, train or automobile, we’re getting our fix in other ways – transporting films, glossy mags, and of course travel-friendly beauty products.

This month’s box is devoted to products that will indulge your inner jetsetter, from hardy formulas that can last throughout a long-haul flight to imported finds that we’ve picked up on our global adventures. For starters, we’re introducing you to one of our carry-on staples: an ultra-flattering stain for cheeks and lips.

Hop online to watch videos of these products in action, find out about the latest trends, and get inspired for your next trip.

xoxo,
Katia, Hayley & the Birchbox Team”

This is the back of the card, which (as always) I will go into more detail about with the products below.

This is everything inside my box.

Product #1: Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner in Black
Full-Size: 0.07 FL OZ, $15.00 USD
Size I Received:  0.07 FL OZ, $15.00 USD (FULL-SIZE!)

The card says: “Direct from the UK, this user-friendly liquid liner has a genuine pen applicator and a super smooth formula.”

First Impressions: A lot of people got the Eyeko Fat Eye Stick in their boxes this month, but I actually just bought one last month, so I was pretty excited to get this. I LOVE eyeliners, and I really like the applicator of this. The color is a true black. It seems pretty good quality, and I really like my Eyeko Fat Eye Stick (in Petrol Blue) that I have, so I know I like the brand. So, I’m excited to play around with this a bit more.

Product #2: Melvita Rose Floral Water
Full-Size: 6.76 FL OZ, $22.00 USD
Size I Received:  0.95 FL OZ, $3.09 USD

The card says: “This organic mist works as a light toner and mid-day skin refresher. We also love the delicate scent.”

First Impressions: This was the highlight of my box for me. I have wanted to try floral water for such a long time, so all I can say about this is YAY! And, there’s PLENTY of product in the bottle, so I will definitely be able to tell if I like it or not, just based on this “sample”.

Product #3: theBalm Cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen
Full-Size: 0.3 FL OZ, $17.00 USD
Size I Recevied: 0.04 FL OZ, $2.26 USD

The card says: “We’re crazy about this two-in-one lip and cheek stain: the sheer gel formula delivers a subtle, long-wearing finish.”

First Impressions: Every single Birchbox this month included this product.  I kind of like this one a bit more than Benefit’s Benetint, because it is a gel instead of a liquid. Plus, I lost my Benetint, so I needed a new one anyways, and this works:)

Product #4: Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream
Full-Size: 1.25 OZ, $16.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.1 OZ, $1.28

The card says: “This bestselling Japanese cream has a concentrated formula that heals cracked hands, chapped lips, and other forms of dryness. It’s your new carry-on essential.”

First Impressions: I actually had two of these sizes already, plus the full-size, so I gave this + one of my other mini sizes of this to my mom for her to try. I haven’t actually tried mine yet, but it seems like an interesting multi-use product (which I love!)

Product #5: Band-Aid Cynthia Rowley Dress Up Band-Aids
Full-Size: pack of 20, $15.00 USD
Size I Received: pack of 20, $15.00 USD (FULL-SIZE!)

The card says: “Be prepared for life’s little emergencies with these stylish designer bandages.”

First Impressions: I was a bit disappointed when I found out band-aids were one of the lifestyle extras this month. BUT: they are really cute designs + they did send a full-sized box. I do think their pricing is a bit off. $15 for one little box of band-aids? I’m pretty sure I could find them cheaper @ Target, but whatever. They’re cute and I think I’ll use them once I’m done with my Hello Kitty ones:)

Product #6: John Varvatos Star USA
Full-Size: 3.4 FL OZ, $70.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.04 FL OZ, $0.82 USD

The card says: “In honor of Father’s Day, we’ve included this dapper cologne, a blend of ginger, juniper berries, and vetiver. Pass it on to a lucky guy friend or family member.”

The card around the packaging says: “Here’s a peek at our new Birchbox Man subscription service. For $20/month, he’ll receive deliveries of trial- and full-size grooming and lifestyle goods from top brands. There’s also an info-packed online Guide, well-edited shop, and generous rewards program. He’s look handsomer already.”

First Impressions: I think this smells decent, but I gave it to Kylor to smell (since I figured he would be the one using it anyways) and he said he liked the smell, but not enough to wear it. . . so I’m not too sure what to do with it now . . . .

My Products from Favorite (1) to Least Favorite (6):
1. 
Melvita Rose Floral Water
2. Eyeko Skinny Liquid Liner
3.
theBalm Cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen
4. BAND-AID Cynthia Rowley Dress Up Band-Aids
5.
Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream
6.
John Varvatos Star USA

What I Paid for This Box: $10.00 USD
Value of This Box:
$37.45 USD

2 thoughts on “Unboxing: June 2012 Birchbox

Comment

