Unboxing: May 2012 Beauty Army

I finally got my very first Beauty Army in the mail today!

I think the packaging is SO cute! And they included a little letter, since they don’t do the information cards.

A close-up of the card. It says:

Hello Gorgeous!

June is in bloom and never comes too soon! Who’s ready to get this summer started? We know we are! Summer is one of the Beauty Army Team’s favorite times of the year. Who doesn’t like warming weather, sun-drenched days and vacation time! We hope you discover the very best of beauty this month with your Beauty Army picks. Product details are available on your account page at BeautyArmy.com. And remember, you can buy the full size online anytime. Happy sampling! 

Warmest, The Beauty Army Team

This is the inside of my Beauty Army box this month.

Product #1: Control Corrective Redness Relief Serum
Full-Size: 1 FL OZ, $48.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.1 FL OZ, $4.80 USD

The Beauty Army website says:  “For sensitive, inflamed or Rosacea-prone skin.  Botanical extracts plus skin-balancing vitamins reduce trans epidermal water loss, which in turn helps strengthen and balance the skin, reduce redness and inhibit future flare-ups.”

First Impressions: I chose this sample because I like color-correcting products, and even though I don’t have any skin conditions that make my skin appear red, I do enjoy products that claim to “even-out” skin tones. I like the packaging of this sample, even though it probably only has a couple of uses in it. I am looking forward to trying this out.

Product #2CellCeutical Skincare NeoCell Micro-Resurfacing Skin Treatment
Full Size: 2 FL OZ, $47.50 USD
Size I Received: 0.33 FL OZ, $7.83 USD

The Beauty Army website says: “Neo-Cell Micro-Resurfacing Skin Treatment uses natural enzymes and volcanic micro-minerals to gently resurface skin without irritation, revealing smoother, more radiant, and healthier-looking skin. Natural enzymes and volcanic-minerals work together to exfoliate surface skin cells without irritation.”

First Impressions: I picked this out because I had never heard of it or the brand, and I figured, might as well try it out, right? I like the little tube, that should last for a bit since I don’t plan on using this every day. So, I am looking forward to trying this out + maybe I can get Kylor to try it out, too. :)

Product #3: Indie Lee The Body Scrub
Full-Size: 12 FL OZ, $38.00 USD
Size I Received: 1.6 FL OZ, $5.06

The Beauty Army website: “Indie formulated this all natural scrub, to deliver a daily dose of pampered, sexy skin. The essential oils create a calming, light, lemon scent to start or end your day.”

First Impressions: I chose this because I LOVE body scrubs and I’m trying to find a cheaper alternative to my favorite: The Malie Organics Body Polish. So, I chose this one! :) I was pleasantly surprised with the size of this, it’s in an actual little tub-like thing (jar?) and it’s almost 2 OZ, which was a nice surprise. I can’t wait to try this out. It was sitting outside for a bit, so it seems a little melted, but I hope it gets more grainy and a bit less water-y.

Product #4: Befine Night Cream
Full-Size: 1.7 FL OZ, $30.00 USD
Size I Received:  0.5 FL OZ, $8.82 USD

The Beauty Army website says: “A rich, nourishing treatment that helps your skin recover,repair and recharge as you sleep. Bio-available nutrients moisturize and soften skin while natural estrogen work to reduce wrinkles and prevent premature aging. Sheer Heaven For Beautiful Skin! Benefits: Reduces the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. Improves circulation for better color and clarity. Helps skin retain critical moisture to feel nourished and hydrated. Protects skin from damage. Directions: Use daily after cleansing and toning as you prepare for bed. Smooth Night Cream all over your face, avoiding the eye.”

First Impressions: I really didn’t want this sample after the whole thing with Birchbox, but I had 1 sample left, and I figured if I didn’t get anything at all, it’d be a waste of money, so I picked this because I wanted to try Befine products that weren’t expired:)
I was also surprised by the size of this, so there should be plenty to see if I like it! :)

Product #5: Kellett Skincare Clarifying Acne Treatment
Full-Size: 1.7 FL OZ, $75.00 USD
Size I Received:  0.1 FL OZ, $4.41 USD

The Beauty Army website says: “Helps to clear up existing acne pimples and prevent breakouts by penetrating pores and killing acne causing bacteria. Directions: Wash face and hands with a non-medicated soap. Apply a pea sized amount twice daily or as directed by physician. Fair skinned individuals should begin with one application.”

First Impressions: I chose this because I’m always looking for new acne treatments, and I have NEVER heard of this brand before, so I figured it would be a good time to try it out. Since I don’t have much acne, just a couple zits here and there, I don’t use much, so I have a feeling this will last me a bit.

Product #6: Grand Central Beauty S.M.A.R.T. Skin Perfecting Mask
Full-Size: 4x what I received (too much for the full-size), $75.00 USD
Size I Received: 0.28 OZ, 0.17 OZ, directions, spatula, mixing bowl, $18.75 USD

The Beauty Army website says: “For all skin types. Grand Central Beauty’s unique combination of active mask powder + their exclusive intensive booster (loaded with vitamins and minerals from fruits, botanicals, and marine seaweeds) delivers an array of clinically proven results in as little as ONE use.
• Smooths. Moisturizes. Anti-Aging. Redness-Reduction. Tones
• Ideal for fighting the effects of everyday lifestyle stressors on the skin
• Can be introduced into and complements your current regimen
• Especially designed for all skin types, including sensitive skin
• Paraben-Free. Sulfate-Free. Petro-Chemicals-Free. Phthalates-Free.
• Allergy tested. Clinically tested.
Only premium ingredients are used in the formulation of the S.M.A.R.T SKIN PERFECTING™ MASK, including seaweed extracts for skin smoothing, an exclusive water-activated vitamin infusion for 24-hour moisture retention, natural marine algaes for anti aging and wrinkle reduction, and soothing botanicals for skin brightening and redness reduction. A blend of mineral-rich marine powders draw out blackheads, refine pores and provide tone and elasticity to skin that has been stressed by age, the elements and poor beauty habits. Finally, fitting into our busy lifestyle, an instant, luxurious skin perfecting treatment created by passionate and professional skincare industry experts for all skin types, all lifestyles, and people constantly on the go.”

First Impressions: I chose this because I thought the concept was really cool, you can custom-make your own face mask. I like the size received, it’s 1/4 of what comes in the original size. I’m excited to try this one out, since it seems like an interesting idea and something fun and creative to do, which is beauty is all about!

List of products from Favorite (1) to Least Favorite (6):
1. Indie Lee The Body Scrub
2. Grand Central Beauty S.M.A.R.T. Skin Perfecting Mask
3. Control Corrective Redness Relief Serum
4. CellCeuticals Neo Cell
5. Kellett SkinCare Clarifying Acne Treatment
6. Befine Night Cream

Price Paid for Box: $12.00 USD
Value of June 2012 Box:  $49.67 USD

Comment

