Haul: May 2012 MyGlam

So, unfortunately, this is my first and last MyGlam. I was wait-listed, and finally got in. I had never bothered reading the reviews before, because I saw the first box, fell in love with it, and immediately signed up to be wait-listed. So, when I finally got into it and they charged my credit card, I decided to check out some reviews and was really disappointed. So, I cancelled my subscription the same day I was accepted for it. But, since they already charged me once, I still got this month’s MyGlam bag. So, I have cancelled my subscription to have some extra “subscription money” for other ones I want to join (COUGH, COUGH: GLOSSYBOX USA!), but depending on whether or not these improve, I might re-apply for the wait-list. I’m kind of just trying out new subscription services for a while until I find my three or four HG ones.

Since this is my first one, I was a bit surprised by the bright pink bubble wrap, but I thought it was kinda cute (if not a bit obnoxious).

This is what was in the pink mailer – an info card (that was kind of pointless in the end, way bad compared to the other subscription services) and a blue and pink bag that just felt and looked cheap.

This is the front of the info card – it says “Love Is In The Air” – Is that the theme? A lot of bloggers have mentioned this, but it seems kinf of strange since it’s May and Valentine’s Day was in February.

This is the back of the card, and I will get more into details about what it says when I talk about each product.

The bag itself – sorry for the bad picture, I didn’t realize it looked like this until it was uploaded.

The inside of the bag.

Product #1: Philosophy Love Sweet Love Spray Fragrance.
Full Size: $42.00
Sample Size: $1.05

The card says: “Feel smitten and irresistibly pretty with this flirty, fruity fragrance.”

First Impressions: I actually was looking at this scent, along with some of the other scents from Philosophy’s new collection, at Sephora during the ROCKPORT event. I do like the way this smells, but I’m not a huge fan of getting perfume samples in these boxes for multiple reasons, so I’m kind of on the fence about this, only  because I do like this scent.

Product #2: Studio Gear Complete Color Lipstick in Whisper.
Full Size: $15.00
Sample Size: This was full-size, so $15.00

The card says: “Rich color that plumps and hydrates for perfectly kissable lips.”

First Impressions: In all of the reviews that I read, a lot of people were upset about their color. I was actually pretty happy with my color. It was a pretty nude-type pinkish color. It’s hard to describe, but I totally lucked out with my color. I do like that this is full-size, as the price makes up for the price of the bag. I’ve never tried Studio Gear products before, so I’m excited to try this out.

Product #3: Miss Beauty Nail Bling
Full-Size: ?
Sample-Size: This product is full-size, so $?

The card says: “Nail art that will make you fall head over heels in an instant.”

First Impressions: First of all, I like that they included two full-size products in this bag, but I couldn’t find this online, and since they don’t put the information on the card (like most of the services do. . . ) I have NO idea how much this is worth. I like the nail polish stickers most of the time, but this is just kind-of middle-schoolish to me? I think I might use these little by little as an accent nail or something. I’ll figure it out, but it’s challenging. So, because I don’t know the price value, I’m calling it $0.00 (sorry!)

Product #4: myglam Concealer Brush & Defining Eyeliner Brush.
Full-Size: $?
Sample Size: These are full-size, so $?.

The card says: “Two final signature pink brushes to complete your myglam collection.”

First Impressions: Since this is my first bag, I don’t have the brush holder or any of the other brushes, so these are totally gonna be out of place in my brush collection, but whatever. These do look slightly cheap, almost like the E.L.F. essential brushes, but I do like those E.L.F. brushes, so I will give these a chance, but I’m ringing them in at $0.00.

Cost of the bag: $10.00
Value of the bag: $16.05

My Favorites (1) – Least Favorites (4):

1. Studio Gear Complete Color Lipstick
2. Philosophy Love Sweet Love Spray Fragrance
3. myglam Concealer Brush & Defining Eyeliner Brush
4. Miss Beauty Nail Bling

In the end, I joined the waiting list again because I think the brushes part is over, so I’m interested in seeing what they come up with next. Hopefully, I’ll be accepted soon, so stay tuned for my next MyGlam and we’ll see how I feel about that one. . .  .

Comment

