Haul: May 2012 Birchbox

This is the May 2012 Birchbox, the special Gossip Girl edition that everyone has been raving about! And my initial reaction was: LAME. I’m really not a fan of this box, but let’s get started and see what you guys think:

(NOTE: I cut into the package with a pair of scissors, and you can see where I cut the Gossip Girl sleeve label. . . Oops.)

This is the card that came with it. It says:

“Hi there,

Of all our guilty pleasures, our weekly “Gossip Girl” date ranks pretty high. As proud New Yorkers, we love seeing our favorite spots on screen – plus we’re addicted to the plot intrigues and killer fashion and beauty looks. Just in time for the season finale Monday, May 14, at 8/7c on The CW, we’ve teamed up with “Gossip Girl” to bring you samples inspired by the series and Manhattan’s chicest events.

This collection has exactly what a social butterfly needs to look her best on the weekends. After all, what is brunch but an opportunity to see and be seen? Invite your besties out with a handwritten note and go for a polished, feminine look that shows you’ve got the details down to a science.

Go online for a behind-the-scenes peek at the prettiest looks on “Gossip Girl”, an exclusive interview with executive producer Stephanie Savage, and much more.

xoxo,

Katie, Hayley & The Birchbox Team”

This is the other side of the card, and I will go into more detail about that per product.

This was my box, all wrapped up and pretty:)

Product #1: Arquiste L’Etrog
Full Size: $165.00
Sample Size: $3.30

The card says: “Warm notes of citron, palm leaves, and myrtle combine in this transporting scent, inspired by the aromas of a medieval harvest festival in Calabria, Italy.”

First Impressions: This is another one of those sample vials of a perfume that you can get for free pretty much anywhere, so I’m not too thrilled.

Product #2: beautyblender blendercleanser
Full Size: $17.95
Sample Size:  $1.45

The card says: “Keep your makeup sponges and brushes in prime condition with this soy-based formula, which removes built-up bacteria and oil.”

First Impressions:  The week before this box arrived, I purchased a Sonia Kashuk Blending Sponge, and I couldn’t find the cleaner for it, so I was pretty happy with this, but if I hadn’t purchased it, I would have been pretty peeved about this sample. . .

Product #3: Color Club Nail Polish in Disco Nap
Full Size: $8.00
Sample Size: $4.00

The card says: “Give nails a gilded look with this luxe metallic polish.”

First Impressions: I like that this is half the size of the regular bottle, that makes it a pretty decent “sample”, I just would have preferred a different color – I have a lot of sparkly golds.

Product #4: Dr. Jart + Waterfuse BB Cream
Full Size: $32.00
Sample Size: $1.48

The card says: “Think of this four-in-one moisturizer, serum, sunscreen, and skin-perfecting tint as the (extremely stylish) Swiss Army Knife of your beauty lineup.”

First Impressions: I am a very big fan of BB Creams, and I have another deluxe sample size of a different BB Cream from Dr. Jart (from the Sephora Favorites Sun Safety Kit 2012), and I’m excited to give this a try.

Product #5: twistband Skinny Headband
Full Size: $20.00
Sample Size: $3.33

The card says: “Keep your hair perfectly in place with these colorful elastic headbands.”

First Impressions: I actually just bought some hair ties like this, but a different brand. I like this, but I would have preferred cosmetic-type products over a hair tie, you know?

Birchbox Extra: Notecards
Full Size: 12 for $10.00
Sample Size: $1.20

The card says: “Text messages are no match for handwritten notes on fun, modern stationery.”

First Impressions: Seriously? I can’t even believe they would include this. . . .

May 2012 Birchbox Favorites (1) -to-Least Favorites (6) List:
1. beautyblender blendercleanser
2. Dr. Jart + Waterfuse BB Cream
3. twistband Skinny Headband
4. Color Club Nail Polish in Disco Nap
5. Arquiste L’Etrog
6. Notecards

Birchbox Monthly Subscription Fee: $10.00
Value of My May 2012 Box: $14.76

6 thoughts on “Haul: May 2012 Birchbox

  1. This is why I haven’t subscribed to any of these boxes. I find that more often than not, they are super crappy. :/ Sorry you weren’t impressed either.

  2. I was disappointed with this months too. I did get different products than you though. I was expecting more since they hyped this box up so much with the whole Gossip Girl thing.

  3. I received the exact same box. I’m a little jealous that you got a black twistband :-) They gave me a “raspberry” one… don’t have much cause for that color in my wardrobe…

Comment

