Sample Sunday 04/22/2012: DHC Velvet Skin Coat Makeup Primer

Sharing from my camera      Sharing from my camera

This is a 0.03 OZ sample of DHC Velvet Skin Coat Makeup Primer.  I received this in the mail via a freebie signup link, along with 3 other samples sizes of various products (keep an eye out for future Sample Sunday posts! :)

Sharing from my camera     Sharing from my camera
I applied this using the same method I use for all of my foundation primers:

Sharing from my camera      Sharing from my camera

I used a foundation brush, put the primer on it, spotted it all over my face and then used my hand to rub it in, making sure to cover my whole face:)

The website says: “Once you slide this inconspicuous primer between your skin and your foundation, you’ll never know how you lived without it. It evens out coverage by filling in creases and fine lines and smoothing over rough patches, so your face appears flawless. The unique texture of this powdery gel is unlike any you’ve ever felt  – it’s not sticky or greasy, making it a favorite among professional makeup artists. With its ability to keep oil in check, you’ll even forget there were such things as makeup mishaps. Not for use on lips.”

There are 943 reviews on the product website alone, and it has received a 4.9 star rating (based on those reviews, on the product website only).

My thoughts? I felt like this was SUPER greasy, but the little sample packet held enough for my entire face and neck, plus a ton left over, so a little does go a long way. Once you actually put it on and rub it in fully, it doesn’t really feel that crazy greasy anymore. While I do prefer other foundation primers, this one is pretty good, I will admit.

I rate it 4.5/5 STARS.

This retails for  $21.00 for a 0.52 OZ size here.

I received this for free via a free sample link. All opinions are my own.

Comment

