Brush Storage & Organization 2012

So, I keep my brushes with my make-up collection, which is stored in a 10-drawer organizer in my closet (because it fits perfectly in there and no moisture gets to the make-up, so everything is protected. There will be more detailed posts coming up about my beauty storage system and my make-up tools. This is just about my brushes.

2012-02-29 14.17.47

This is where I store my make-up and some other beauty supplies, whatever I can fit that makes sense to have with my makeup instead of my Bath Beauty products. As you can see, it fits perfectly in my closet. You can see Kylor’s T-Shirt Section to the left, and behind the drawer set is my Lingerie Section. (Keep your eye out for my Closet Tour post!)

1330550275245

This is where most of my brushes are kept – on top of the drawer set with my foundations (in the back) and my face primers (towards the front). I keep my face brushes in the back next to the foundation and my eye and lip brushes next to the face primer. Only my most-used brushes are kept up here. The rest of the brushes are in the top drawer in the drawer set. In the Foundation section, I store my foundation sponges, which is what I use to put on foundation every day. I really wanna get a Blending Brush (like the Beauty Blender).

1330550653810    1330550638569

The top drawer in the drawer set is mostly used for storing beauty tools, such as empty Stila eyeshadow pots, eyebrow shapers, gel eye masks, the Brush Guard, etc. Anything that is make-up (not beauty) related that doesn’t really have it’s own section. I also store my not-used-very-often brushes in this drawer.

The picture on the left is a compartment I put in the drawer that I got from another storage solution. It is separated by 3 small compartments. In the left compartment, I store disposable eyeshadow brushes. In the middle compartment, I store brushes that come with eyeshadows and palettes, like the L’Oreal Paris HIP Eyeshadow Pigment brushes. I just toss them in there and very rarely use them. In the right compartment, I store mini kabuki brushes that are generally in value sets or GWPs.

The picture on the right is another storage section I got from a kit used to organize junk drawers. I store eyebrow shapers, tweezers, some double-ended brushes I don’t use too often and other misc. brushes I’m not a huge fan of, such of the Covergirl one you can see in the picture.

2012-02-29 14.18.59

1330550350141      

I store my most-used face brushes in these glass containers I got at a dollar store. I filled them with these large blue rock-things (also purchased @ the dollar store).

2012-02-29 14.19.38       1330550406729

These are the two glass containers I use to store my most-used face brushes.

In the container in the picture on the left, I have:

1. An E.L.F. Professional Total Face Brush. I purchased this @ Target for $1.00, and I use it for my setting powder.
2. An EcoTools Face Powder Brush. I purchased this @ Walgreens for around $7.00, and I use it for a back-up setting powder brush.
3. A brush that came in some kit I got @ Walmart that I use for my illuminators. It came in a set of 4 brushes for around $10.00.
4. An E.L.F.  Blending Brush. I purchased this in a kit from the E.L.F. website for $? and I use it for my E.L.F. Eye Brightener.
5. A Sonia Kashuk Face Powder Brush that I purchased @ Target in a set of brushes for $?. I use this for my bronzer.
6. A Sonia Kasuk Blending Brush that I purchased on clearance @ Target that I use for my blush.

I was actually cleaning my EcoTools brush @ the time this picture was taken, and that’s why there is a Brush Guard on it.

In the container in the picture on the right, I have:

1. An E.L.F. Professional Concealer Brush which I purchased in a gift set @ Target. I use this for my Benefit Cosmetics Erase Paste.
2. An E.L.F. Professional Foundation Brush which I purchased in a gift set @ Target. I use this for my face primer.
3. 3 random Ulta face brushes that were GWP’s. I don’t generally use them, but might if my setting powder or blush brushes are dirty at the time.
4. An E.L.F. Professional Bronzing Brush which I purchased in a gift set @ Target. I don’t generally use this brush, but keep it up there just in case.
5. 3 various foundation and concealer brushes from the set I puchased @ Walmart for around $10. I haven’t figured out what I’m going to use these for, so I keep them up there so I don’t forget about them.
6. A Sonia Kashuk concealer brush that I typically use for cream eye brighteners, when I use them.

2012-02-29 14.21.07   1330550485207

I store my most-used eye and lip brushes in these Valentine’s Day themed cups I purchased @ Fry’s Food and Drug for $1.99 each around Valentine’s Day of this year. I use these beads that get bigger when you add water to them as a filler. I bought them @ a dollar store. One container of them fills up both of the Valentine’s Day cups.

1330550555898      2012-02-29 14.23.02

In the container in the picture on the left, I store my favorite eye brushes. In the container in the picture on the right, I store my random eye and lip brushes.

The container in the picture on the left has:

1. An E.L.F. Professional Eye Shadow Brush. I got it in a gift set I purchased @ Target.
2. A Smudge Brush (I’m not sure what brand  it is or where I got it from)
3. A Sonia Kashuk Crease Brush I got in a set I purchased @ Target.
4. A Sonia Kashuk Eyeliner Brush I got in a set I purchased @ Target.
5. A Sonia Kashuk Eye Shadow Brush I got in a set I purchased @ Target.
6. Another E.L.F. Professional Eye Shadow Brush I purchased @ Target for $1.00.
7. A Revlon Eyeliner Brush I purchased @ Walmart for around $3.00.
8. An EcoTools Blending Brush I received in a set I got for free via Swagbucks Amazong giftcards.
9. An EcoTools Highlight Brush I received in a set I got for free via Swagbucks Amazon giftcards.
10. An EcoTools Crease Brush I received in a set I got for free via Swagbucks Amazon giftcards.
11. An Ecotools Shade Brush I received in a set I got for free via Swagbucks Amazon giftcards.

In the container in the picture on the right, I have:

1. 6 random brushes that probably came in a GWP set (I’m not sure what brand it is, or how much it cost)
2. 2 Ulta eye and lip brushes that were in a GWP.
3. An E.L.F. Professional Lip Defining Brush that I received in a gift set I purchased @ Target.
4. A Sephora Professional Sponge Tip Shadow Brush that I purchased @ Sephora on clearance for like, $1.00.
5. An E.L.F. Professional Eyeliner Brush that I received in a gift set I purchased @ Target.
6. 2 Ulta Sponge Tip Brushes that I received in a GWP.
7. An E.L.F. Professional Smudge Eye Sponge that I received in a gift set I purchased @ Target.

And last but not least, in my Foundation area, I have some foundation sponges.

How do you organize your make-up brushes?

2 thoughts on “Brush Storage & Organization 2012

Comment

